Rangelands NRM Blog, News & Resources

2013 AGM showcases past and present

The Rangelands NRM Annual General Meeting was held on 6 November at the Esplanade River Suites in Como, with 38 people in attendance.

The meeting included an election of Committee Members and Bill Mitchell was returned as Chair of Rangelands NRM. In line with the Constitution, all other board positions were declared vacant and nominations sought for Elected Committee members, Nominee Committee Members and Board Associates.

Elected committee members are as follows: Chris Mitchell (West Kimberley Reference Group), Mike Clarke (Pilbara Reference Group), Kim Eckert, Regina Flugge

Nominee committee members are: Rob Thomas (Central Desert Native Title Service), Jodie McTaggart (Gascoyne Catchment Group), Andrew Whitmarsh (Murchison LCDC), Mark Batty (WALGA)

Agency Associates are: Allisdair MacDonald (Department of Parks and Wildlife), Carolyn Hills (Department of Water), Karel Eringa (Department of Lands), Sandra Van Vreeswyk (Department of Agriculture and Food). No nominations were received from Department of Fisheries but meeting agreed to continue the position of Agency Associate in 2014.

Chris Mitchell returns as Vice-Chair and Dick Pasfield returns as Treasurer/Secretary.

The AGM was followed by a number of presentations. Bevan Grey spoke about key achievements working with Aboriginal groups. A film was shown showcasing the key achievements from the past four years of Caring for Our Country and Dr Bill Cotching presented on the current activities of the Pilbara Corridors Project. Each of the Program Managers also presented ˜the future’ plans and projects for their regions.

The 2012/13 Rangelands NRM Annual Report and Scorecard was also released and can be viewed on our website.

Image: Bill Cotching presents about the Pilbara Corridor Project at the AGM presentation (©TBelcher)