Rangelands NRM Blog, News & Resources

Control of Pilbara weeds on track for success

Key stakeholders met this month to hear the past year’s results and commitment to the upcoming year’s weed program from the Pilbara Mesquite Management Committee (PMMC) Annual General Meeting.

The PMMC has been operating for 10 years and is supported by Rangelands NRM through funding from the Australian Government’s National Landcare Programme.

The PMMC coordinate management of weed such as mesquite and parkinsonia, in the Pilbara region, aligning with the collaborative approach of the Pilbara Corridors landscape-scale project.

The key to the PMMC’s success is encouraging collaboration between land managers on a landscape-scale basis.

Representatives from pastoral stations, mining, media and contracting attended the AGM at Mardie Station near Karratha on 9 September.

During the meeting, the PMMC Strategy 2014-17 was released which outlines the commitment to ongoing Mesquite and Parkinsonia by key partners in the region.

Joe Armstrong of Urala Station was re-elected as Chairman and Richard Climas from Mardie Station was re-elected as Vice-Chair.

Pilbara Corridors Program Manager Ian Cotton attended the meeting to brief the attendees on the Pilbara Conservation Action Plan (CAP) process and strategic plan.

“The CAP process is identifying priority assets, metadata of survey and monitoring projects in the bioregion and asset maps,” Mr Cotton said.

“There is now metadata available on the Pilbara Corridors website in the form of our GRID maps that enable the last 10 years of survey and monitoring projects in the bioregion and asset maps to be easily viewed,” he said.

The CAP strategic plan and priority asset mapping is being prepared following three consultative workshops with stakeholders.

The AGM was also an opportunity to say farewell to outgoing PMMC Project Manager Linda Anderson and to welcome Jo Kuiper into the role.

Linda was praised by the Committee for all her efforts.

Image: Mardie Station cattle yard, from left Lucie Bell, Linda Anderson, Jo Kuiper and Gabby Pracillo (Photo by Ian Cotton).