Rangelands NRM Blog, News & Resources

Pilbara weeds facilitator runner-up in National award

[September 2014]

Linda Anderson from the Pilbara Mesquite Management Committee (PMMC) was highly commended and the runner up in the 2014 National Landcare Facilitator award.

The 2014 National Landcare Awards were presented as part of the National Landcare Conference conference. Eleven winners were announced at the Gala dinner event.

The Awards saw one of Australia’s first Landcare advocates former Prime Minister, the Hon. Bob Hawke presenting the ‘Bob Hawke Landcare Award’.

Bob Hawke has played a key role in elevating Landcare from a grass-roots community initiative to a national movement with strong government support.

Ms Clunies-Ross said it was pretty exciting to be with Linda Anderson from the PMMC.

“Linda has done a great job managing Mesquite, Parkinsonia, cactus and other weeds of national significance in the Pilbara region of WA and I was privileged to work with her in Karratha last year,” Ms Clunies-Ross said.

Congratulations were also in order for pastoralists Garry and Michelle Riggs of Lakefield Station in the NT for winning the National Landcare Award for Innovation and Sustainable Farm practices.

Lakefield Station consists of 58,500 hectares of savannah woodlands, grasses and wetlands and integrates sustainable, profitable grazing, with forestry, an orchard and the conservation of significant habitat. Lakefield has two Territory Conservation Agreements (TCA) on the property that protects 1,050 hectares of critical wetland habitat through fencing so grazing is managed within these areas along with the protection of waterholes and surrounding habitat for native species. For more information about Lakefield Station please visit http://www.target100.com.au/Farmer-stories/Lakefield-Station

Image: John Silver, Linda Anderson and Mez Clunies-Ross with Bob Hawke at the Landcare Gala dinner

More information

All 69 finalist case studies and photos by category are available via the Landcare Awards Website and the Press Release.

The 2014 Bob Hawke Landcare Award – Colin Seis, NSW
Colin Seis invented and developed ‘multi species pasture cropping’ (pasture cropping), helping produce food for the growing human population while restoring grasslands and soil, and thereby the sustainability of farms. Pasture cropping is now internationally recognised by leading crop scientists.

The 2014 National Landcare People’s Choice Award – Mallee Sustainable Farming, SA
Mallee Sustainable Farming delivers research and extension services for low rainfall dryland farmers in the mallee cropping regions of South Australia, New South Wales and Victoria and operates over 7 million hectares.

Australian Government Individual Landcare – Russell Fry, QLD
Russell often has to deal with the misconception that Landcare is essentially about planting trees. His strong belief is that Landcare is about the sustainable use of natural resources to build sustainable farms, supporting communities and the environment.

Australian Government Innovation in Sustainable Farm Practices – Lakefield Station, NT
By producing food in a best practice fashion, Lakefield Station is ensuring it will remain a resilient primary producer, able to deal with climatic and market variations and remains a productive enterprise; the family cattle station also has approximately 1200ha under conservation.

Australian Government Landcare Facilitator or Coordinator – Louise Hufton, NSW
Louise Hufton has spent more than 20 years driving change in the Harden Murrumburrah region of NSW. Using her role as coordinator for the Harden Murrumburrah Landcare Group, Louise has inspired members, facilitated change and achieved ambitious on-ground projects such as the Community Stream Monitoring Project.

Australian Government Partnerships with Landcare – Goolwa to Wellington Local Action Planning Association, SA
Contracted to deliver for the Murray Futures program, the Goolwa to Wellington Local Planning Association has engaged volunteers from more than 54 community groups (in excess of 3000 volunteers per annum), planting almost a million seedlings on a total of some 100 sites since 2010.

Indigenous Land Management – Yurung Dhaura Aboriginal Land Management Team, ACT
The focus for the Yurung Dhaura was to train and skill Indigenous people in environmental regeneration and traditional land management, which proved a great success in helping the trainees and local Aboriginal community with environmental and social outcomes.

Junior Landcare Team ‘ Lansdowne Crescent Primary School, TAS
Lansdowne Crescent Primary School’s Land to Sea team created a bilingual interpretive trail of Hobart’s Knocklofty Reserve allowing visitors to access information by using their iPhones to scan the Quick Response (QR) codes, which directly link to the Land to Sea Website developed by the team.

Qantas Landcare Innovative Community Group – Roleybushcare, WA
Roleybushcare formed to conserve the bush from phytophthora dieback recognised by governments as a major threat to the biodiversity of the country. They designed and manufactured hydraulic tree injectors, injected over 18,000 trees to protect them and ensured every local bushland reserve had a registered custodian with council.

Westpac Agribusiness Innovative Young Landcare Leader – Kate Sputore, WA
Kate Sputore knows the power of volunteer engagement. She is adept at encouraging new generations to join the Coastcare and Landcare movement, whilst also building on and attracting recognition for the invaluable work of our volunteers. Kate coordinated the first Coastcare for Singles event in WA, among other major events.

Coast care – Tangaroa Blue Foundation, WA
The Australian Marine Debris Initiative was created by Tangaroa Blue Foundation in 2004. Since then, there have been over 26,000 public volunteer opportunities and over 2.4 million items of marine debris have been removed from the Australian coastline, including 907,000 items from sites in the State.